My dear friend Alex and I started our friendship in a bizarre, convoluted, somewhat romantically involved way. And, the past few times we’ve talked, he’s suggested that he really, really, really wants me to write a post about him.

I refused, for a couple of reasons. First, I tried to write out the story, and it’s too long and confusing. There are too many characters and too much drama. Second, it has a happy ending (in that we’re friends), which loses me street cred. And third, there’s a part in the middle of our interaction that makes me look like a certifiable crazy person. I have very little shame, but that was too much for me to publish to the world.

I did, however, want to give Alex a little shout-out. He is a lovely, dear friend of mine. Hi Alex! You made it to the blog, bud.

