Aight, frienz.

I was talking to a friend in my writing class last night about online dating. I told him about this blog, and why I suspended it.

“I felt like I was just being bitter and judgmental, and maybe I need to give people the benefit of the doubt more,” I said.

“But I bet bitter and judgmental made for much better blog posts,” he said.

And, you know what? He was totally right.

Not that I didn’t know that before. Bitter makes for awesome writing. There’s a reason “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” is such a damn good song, and it’s not just because Bob Dylan was sexy in 1965. It’s because it’s fucking bitter (side note: I made a playlist of just Bob Dylan songs when my high school boyfriend and I broke up. I used to cry listening to “Just Like A Woman” on the bus).

Here’s the thing, though. In the past few months, I’ve made two totally authentic and vulnerable attempts at dating people who were lovely, but just didn’t work out. I took all the scary of trusting people and it totally paid off, even if the relationships didn’t pan out.

I feel like this entitles me to start being bitter about shitty people again. So, Men That Are Rectangles is back. You’re welcome. You know you missed us.

XOXO,

The Little Red-Haired Girl

 

